Lessons from Energiewende: Applying German Solutions for Sustained US Supply Chain Growth

28.04.2022

in

Atlantic City ,
USA
Venue: Atlantic City Convention Center
Key Topic: Growth in the US

PANEL DISCUSSION

The German Offshore Wind Initiative GOI invites all visitors of the IPF2022 to the workshop “Lessons from Energiewende: Applying German Solutions for Sustained US Supply Chain Growth”. In this panel discussion , German companies report on their diverse experiences in the development of offshore wind projects in Europe. They will also reflect on how the lessons they learned can apply to the evolving U.S. supply chain. Representatives from the companies Deutsche Windtechnik , Wind Grid (Elia Group) and RWE Renewables GmbH will be there.

Each panelist represents a distinct and critical aspect of the supply chain: operations and maintenance, transmission, certification and foundations. US Representative Mike Matthews (German Offshore Wind Initiative GOI) will moderate the discussion from a macroeconomic and market policy perspective. Learn how the “Lessons from Energiewende” of GOI companies can be transferred to the US offshore wind industry to flatten the learning curve in the supply chain and reduce the cost of offshore wind energy in the US. Participation is free for all visitors of the IPF2022.

We look forward to sharing and discussing these points during IPF 2022! You are also welcome to visit us at the booth of the German Offshore Wind Initiative GOI: Booth #223, Atlantic City Convention Center .

 

When & Where

April 28, 2022 8:30am-9:30am

Atlantic City Convention Center – 313

Workshops – Track 7: Growth in the U.S.

 

Moderation

Mike Matthews (US Representative German Offshore Wind Initiative GOI)

Mike Matthews

As the US representative of the German Offshore Wind Initiative GOI, Mike Matthews works to help bridge the gap between German small-to-medium enterprises and the myriad gaps in the U.S. offshore wind supply chain. Mike Matthews started his work in the German Offshore Wind Initiative GOI after a decade in various functions of the state government. He was also employed by the DC Department of Energy and Environment (DOEE) focusing on offshore wind policy and solar energy communications. Mike holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Communications from the University of North Florida, and a Master of Science in Energy Policy and Climate from Johns Hopkins University.

 

Speakers

Alexander Kruse (Managing Director – Carneades Project Services GmbH)

 

Thomas Koebinger (Pipeline and Business Development Manager – WindGrid/Elia Group)

Thomas Köbinger has almost ten years of professional experience in the energy sector. Among other things, he worked in the following areas: grid planning, integration of renewable energies, market entry strategies for offshore plants and project development. Through his various functions (grid planning, markets and system of the future) at three major European transmission system operators (TenneT, 50Hertz and Elia) he has a comprehensive knowledge of the energy transition, its drivers, markets and regulation, planning processes for (coupled) infrastructure and the role set up by the transmission system operator. In his new role as Pipeline & Business Development Manager in Elia Group’s new WindGrid unit, he is responsible for developing holistic offshore grid projects worldwide. At the same time, these should enable an optimized integration of wind turbines and minimize the overall costs and environmental impact. The aim should be holistic offshore transmission planning and better coordination between states and interest groups. This is the key to a successful energy transition.

 

Elmar Friedrich (President and Project Director Community Offshore Wind – RWE Renewables GmbH)

 

German Offshore Wind Initiative GOI @ IPF2022

Further information on the appearance of the German Offshore Wind Initiative at the IPF2022 and the kick-off event “Bier & Brats Reception” can be found here .

FLYER_GOI Bier & Pretzel Reception (1)

Lessons from Energiewende: Applying German Solutions for Sustained U.S. Supply Chain Growth

28.04.2022
in
Atlantic City ,
USA
Venue: Atlantic City Convention Center
Thema: Growth in the U.S.

PANEL DISCUSSION

Die German Offshore-Wind Initiative lädt alle Besucher*innen des IPF2022 zum Workshop „Lessons from Energiewende: Applying German Solutions for Sustained U.S. Supply Chain Growth“ ein. In dieser Panel Discussion berichten deutsche Firmen über ihre vielfältigen Erfahrungen bei der Entwicklung von Offshore-Windprojekten in Europa. Gemeinsam reflektieren sie, wie die Lektionen, die sie dabei gelernt haben, sich auf die sich entwickelnde Lieferkette in den USA angewendet werden können. Mit dabei sind Vertreter der Unternehmen Deutschen Windtechnik, Wind Grid (Elia Group) und RWE Renewables GmbH.

Jeder Podiumsteilnehmer vertritt einen entscheidenden Aspekt der Lieferkette: Betrieb und Wartung, Übertragung, Zertifizierung und Fundamente. US-Representative Mike Matthews (German Offshore-Wind Initiative GOI) wird die Diskussion aus makroökonomischer und marktpolitischer Sicht moderieren. Erfahren Sie, wie die „Lessons from Energiewende“ der deutschen Unternehmen auf die US-Offshore-Windindustrie übertragen werden können, um die Lernkurve in der Lieferkette abzuflachen und die Kosten der Offshore-Windenergie in den USA zu senken. Die Teilnahme ist für alle Besucher*innen des IPF2022 kostenlos.

Wir freuen uns sehr auf den Austausch und die Diskussion dieser Punkte während des IPF 2022! Besuchen Sie uns gern auch am Stand der German Offshore-Wind Initiative GOI: Booth #223, Atlantic City Convention Center.

 

Wann & Wo

28. April 2022, 8:30 Uhr -9:30 Uhr (GMT-4)

Atlantic City Convention Center – 313

 

Moderation

Mike Matthews (US-Repräsentant German Offshore-Wind Initiative GOI)

Mike Matthews

Als US-Repräsentant der German Offshore-Wind-Initiative GOI arbeitet Mike Matthews daran, die Lücke zwischen deutschen kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen und jenen in der Offshore-Wind-Lieferkette in den USA zu schließen. Mike Matthews startete seine Tätigkeit in der German Offshore-Wind Initiative GOI, nachdem er ein Jahrzehnt lang in verschiedenen Funktionen der Landesregierung tätig war. Weiterhin war er beim DC Department of Energy and Environment (DOEE) angestellt. Dort konzentrierte er sich auf die Offshore-Windpolitik und die Solarenergiekommunikation. Mike verfügt über einen Bachelor of Science in Kommunikation von der University of North Florida und einen Master of Science in Energiepolitik und Klima von der Johns Hopkins University.

 

Sprecher

Alexander Kruse (Managing Director – Carneades Project Services GmbH)

 

Thomas Köbinger (Pipeline and Business Development Manager -WindGrid/Elia Group)

Thomas Köbinger verfügt über fast zehn Jahre Berufserfahrung im Energiesektor. Unter anderem war er in folgenden Bereichen tätig: Netzplanung, Integration erneuerbarer Energien, Markteintrittsstrategien für Offshore-Anlagen und Projektentwicklung. Durch seine verschiedenen Funktionen (Netzplanung, Märkte und System der Zukunft) bei drei großen europäischen Übertragungsnetzbetreibern (TenneT, 50Hertz und Elia) hat er ein umfassendes Wissen über die Energiewende, ihre Triebkräfte, Märkte und Regulierung, Planungsprozesse für (gekoppelte) Infrastruktur und die Rolle der Übertragungsnetzbetreiber aufgebaut. In seiner neuen Funktion als Pipeline & Business Development Manager in der neuen Einheit WindGrid der Elia Group, ist er dafür verantwortlich, weltweit ganzheitliche Offshore-Netzprojekte zu entwickeln. Gleichzeitig sollen diese eine optimierte Integration von Windkraftanlagen ermöglichen und die Gesamtkosten und Umweltauswirkungen minimieren. Ziel soll eine ganzheitliche Offshore-Übertragungsplanung und eine bessere Koordination zwischen den Staaten und Interessengruppen sein. Dies ist der Schlüssel für eine erfolgreiche Energiewende.

 

Elmar Friedrich (President and Project Director Community Offshore Wind – RWE Renewables GmbH)

 

German Offshore-Wind Initiative GOI @ IPF2022

Weitere Informationen zum Auftritt der German Offshore-Wind Initiative auf dem IPF2022 sowie zum Kick-Off Event „Bier & Brats Reception“ finden Sie hier.

FLYER_GOI Bier & Pretzel Reception (1)